Department of Mathematics

MSIM Testimonials

Patrick Zabriskie

The Master of Science in Industrial Mathematics (MSIM) program has blossomed since its inception since late 90s and is well-known as one the best-established and long-lasting Professional Science Master’s (PSM) Programs (PSM affiliation in 1998).

What do some of our PSM Graduates have to say?

Patrick Zabriskie

Patrick Zabriskie

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2016

Technical Consultant II, Developer, Acumen Solutions

“I graduated from the MSIM program in 2016 and began a career at Acumen Solutions as a software developer later that year. Over the two years that I was in the program, the exposure I received to a variety of subjects covering a wide range of applied mathematics, statistics, and computer science gave me an important knowledge base that, to this day, I still draw on in my job. Furthermore, the opportunity provided by the program to work directly with companies on real-world projects helped foster key skills that have proven invaluable in my work life -- namely, the ability to quickly adapt to new situations and learn new technologies and skills in order to work affectively in dynamic business environments. The instruction and guidance from Dr. Wu, through which I learned how to communicate in a professional and organized manner, has also been incredibly useful, as it has helped me to form good relationships not only with those I work with at my company, but also clients for whom my company’s reputation of professionalism and courtesy is an important part of our brand. In short, the MSIM program has been instrumental in helping me to have a successful career, and I am very grateful for having had the opportunity to be in the program.”

Jinxuan Yan

Jinxuan Yan

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2013

Data Analyst, PCS-CTS

“It was a life-changing experience to join the PSM in Industrial Mathematics from MSU. It was totally new environment, in which I had the opportunity to take classes from the top and brilliant professors from different departments, Math, Statistics and Economic, Engineering and so on. And the most exciting thing is that I can participate in all kinds of social events to meet the industrial advisors and build my interview skills and gain valuable insights into the fields. The Industrial projects gave me a chance to gain some real industrial experiences, which has prepared me as a team player and also as a leader. With the diverse knowledge in Applied Math, Statistics and data mining and training in effective communication and leadership, I am very well prepared for my career.”

Ben Wood

Ben Wood

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

Research Manager – Statistical Methods, Measurement Science, Nielsen

“My desire to solve challenging problems drove me to pursue mathematics; my desire to manage a technical team led me to the PSM. The PSM in Industrial Mathematics at Michigan State University gave me the right experiences to earn a management track position in Data Science, and continues to pay dividends. With a balance of mathematical knowledge, computational experience, and business training provided by the PSM, I am able to solve increasingly challenging mathematical and business problems with a perspective unique among my peers. I am currently managing development of a new behavioral modeling technique at a leading market research firm.”

Yunyun Wei

Yunyun Wei

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2014

Software Engineer, ForteMedia, Inc.

“I am passionate about science and the disciplines of business. With the career goal of being a business and science professional in a technology-based company, right after I finished my undergraduate study in Physics in 2012, I joined the PSM in Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State University (MSU).

During the two years’ graduate school life in the Industrial Mathematics program at MSU, I learned, worked and grew up with an inspiring advisor and an amazing group of teammates in this program. I came to work in the Bay Area, CA after I graduated. The exposure to project management during the program enables me to transit from academia to industry very quickly. In addition to technical knowledge, the work skills, particularly communication and writing skills, and the ability of presenting professionalism I acquired from this program are valuable in my work. I believe those are essential for one to keep growing in one’s career.”

Jun Wang

Jun Wang

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2004

Data Scientist, Twitter

“After graduating from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in December 2004, I joined HSBC's Risk Management department working on loan pricing and portfolio management strategies. In 2007 I joined Google, in the 5 years following I worked in different products: business analytics, operations, marketing and business intelligence and built multiple teams along the way. Now I'm at Twitter's revenue team working on Sales Intelligence using data science. I'm sure my professional career would be completely different if I were not so well prepared by the PSM program for the industry world. During my two years in the PSM program I had the opportunity to explore my interest in a wide range of topics from economics to data mining, from bio-stats to computer science. In additional to the wide academic offerings, I also acquired enough knowledge through the certificate program on real world business skills around project management, presentation, writing, etc. -- all happening while surrounded by a group of very talented, ambitious and diverse group of students. As a student who had almost exclusively focused on academic math and near zero exposure to the business world before, the PSM degree was a major booster in both my business acumen and my self-confidence.”

Luma Vasiljevic

Luma Vasiljevic

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2006

Assistant Manager - Network Optimization Transportation Planning, Norfolk Southern Corporation

"I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in December 2006 and joined Norfolk Southern Corporation in January 2007. I was impressed by the quality and diversity of the students attracted to the PSM program. Having a strong background in theoretical mathematics, the program helped me strengthen my mathematical modeling and programming skills and exposed me to a variety of real world problems where mathematical modeling is applicable. The program also helped me improve my communication and writing skills. I believe that the skills and knowledge acquired through the PSM program lie at the core of my career success thus far; However, I believe that exposure to organizational structures and decision making processes as well as organizational data structures and actual data during the program would have eased the transition from academia to industry and made me even more effective in my role."

Chad Stripling

Chad Stripling

PSM Industrial Mathematics; Michigan State University, 2014

Data Analyst, Dunnhumby

“Coming out of my undergraduate studies I had several internships and research experiences that helped me decide that I wanted to use my mathematical background in a business setting. I did not know however what type of opportunities there was for a mathematically minded person who wanted to work in industry. The Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State not only allowed me to continue to develop my mathematical and business acumen but also allowed me to gain valuable work experience. I was able to work with companies and solve real business needs as part of the program which was extremely helpful in better understanding what I wanted to do for a career and finding a job upon completion of the program. The experiences I had and the knowledge I gained during my time in the Industrial Mathematics program gave me a strong foundation to start my career and has helped set me apart from my peers while beginning my career in marketing and customer science analytics. The Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State was one of the best decisions I have ever made in terms of growing as mathematician and business professional, while gaining the background necessary to be successful in the marketplace.”

Cody Stripling

Cody Stripling

PSM Industrial mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

Senior Analyst, Dunnhumby

“Michigan State University’s Professional Science Master’s program in Industrial Mathematics allowed me the opportunity to gain a solid foundation in mathematics, statistics, and data analysis before beginning my career. I graduated in 2010 and began my job at dunnhumby as an analyst. My breadth of previous experience and work has helped grow in my position where I analyze, interpret, model, and manipulate dat. The classes and real world projects that were available to me because of the PSM program provided a great basis for the challenges I come across in my day to day work.”

Ina Stashonsky

Ina Stashonsky

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2010

Anesthesiologist Assistant, Grady Memorial Hospital

“After graduating from the Professional Science Master's (PSM) degree program in Industrial Mathematics, I began my career at Deloitte & Touche, LLP as a consultant. Specifically, I worked in the IT audit department analyzing figures and reports produced by my client. The skills obtained in the PSM program were useful to my profession because of the programming that was required and the type of analysis used to test samples from a large data base. In addition, I was prepared with a strong work ethic and ability to communicate well with others.

My career path took a turn, as I chose to seek a profession as an anesthesiologist assistant. Even though my ‘office’ is now the operating room, I have been easily able to transfer the skills obtained from the PSM program. Attention to detail and analysis – as was emphasized in the PSM Industrial Mathematics program – is critical to a successful outcome in both professions. My background is different from many of my colleagues but I see that as an asset to the anesthesia team and am able to contribute my unique skills each day at work.”

Nandita Singh

Nandita Singh

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2005

Senior Manager, Customer Experience Design & Operations Strategy - Discover Financial Services

“PSM in Industrial Mathematics program prepared me to step in the corporate world where Mathematical and Statistical concepts can be applied to solve business problems. The curriculum also included project work with a Company and certification in communication skills, which immensely helped me to be successful in my career right from the beginning. Since graduation, I have been working for Financial Services Firm with focus on Customer experience, Strategic Operations, Marketing Analytics, and Risk Management.”

Shengyin Si

Shengyin Si

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2017

Research and Development Analyst, Progressive Insurance Company

“I joined Industrial Mathematics program after I received a M.S. in Statistics at MSU in 2016. I was really impressed by the diversified curriculum offered in MSIM, where I can take courses from not only Mathematics and Statistics, but also Economics, Computer Science, Marketing, Supply Chain and so on. This allowed us to learn more about different field and helped us develop career in various industries. The industrial project with local companies in each spring semester provided a great opportunity for us to apply the technical knowledge that we learned from class to real world problems. There are also great events like IACD, which helped us know more about local companies and get advice from the industry advisors.

In December 2017, I graduated from MSIM and then joined Progressive Insurance as an R&D analyst in Product Development Team. The knowledge that I learned from MSIM helped me lay a solid foundation of mathematical and statistical methods and programming skills so that I can understand the team and projects and move quickly into work. The communication and technical writing skills also helped me become very effective when delivering project updates to managers and peers. I believe my MSIM experience will definitely help me succeed in my career.”

Akshit Sarpal

Akshit Sarpal

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2017

Data Science Associate, Unum Group

“Coming from a Statistics background, I wanted to dig further into applied Mathematics and learn concepts which could be applied in the workplace/industry. I joined PSM in Industrial Mathematics with an aim to acquire technical skills for data analysis and modeling. I was not only able to strengthen my technical knowledge but also acquired soft skills through personalized mentorship and opportunities to take part in industrial projects.

One of the biggest strengths of the MSIM program has been its sheer flexibility and options for choosing cognates/electives. Mathematics has application in a lot of other disciplines like Economics, Computes Science, Marketing, Supply Chain Management etc. and MSIM offered the option to choose a stream and I was very happy to take CS classes. This ensured that I could develop Mathematical skills and also apply them to my area of interest at the same time. The program opened doors to various opportunities and I was able to get an internship which was in line with my career goals. I believe Projects in Industrial Mathematics (and the pre-requisite courses) has been one of the best courses which played a key role in developing my overall professional profile. Working with Michigan based companies in the role of a student consultant helped learn and polish professional etiquette, which is even helping today in my current professional role.

For me, the program offered a great kick start to a career in Data Science along with the necessary hard and soft skills for constant growth and success.”

Ian Rhynard

Ian Rhynard

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2014

Associate Manager - Data Science, Nielsen

“As I progressed through high school and college I struggled to identify how my passion for mathematics would eventually fit into my daily work. I didn't have a specific career in mind, and didn't know exactly what I wanted to do - I simply enjoyed math and desired to transform my field of study into a career. The Professional Science Master's in Industrial Mathematics did precisely that. Throughout the program I gained technical and professional experience that was directly transferable to industry and discovered the world of Data Science. Armed with this competitive skill set and desire to be a part of this new field, I launched my career as a Data Scientist. Now I spend my time writing code to analyze data, explore machine learning models, and develop methodologies for scientific measurement. If you want transform yourself from a student of math to a practitioner of math, this program is a perfect fit.”

Mike Olson

Mike Olson

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2006

President & Co-Founder, Zuben AI

“After graduating with my Bachelor’s in Physics and Mathematics, I knew I needed additional education and training prior to entering the business world. The PSM program in Industrial Mathematics was exactly what I was looking for and I am very proud to have earned this degree at MSU. The MSIM program provides its select students the opportunity to work directly with the business community on challenging, impactful, and meaningful projects. I vividly and fondly remember taking part in multiple business projects during my time in the program as each engagement provided additional opportunity to network and creatively solve interesting business problems. Additionally, my ‘cohort’ course selections targeted key areas of analytic business practice such as quality and marketing management, and financial mathematics.

My experience in the MSIM program is not far from what my professional life is now as the owner of an analytical (data science) consultancy. I source projects, work on them, communicate with clients, and deliver results. The key is your ability to translate the work you deliver into the language the business community expects: the 4M’s – “Make Me More Money.” The skills you will gain in this program are coherently focused on developing you into a successful leader and practitioner in the analytical business community.”

Tong Mu

Tong Mu

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2016

Intermediate Risk Analyst, Transamerica Life Insurance Company

“I graduated from MSU’s MSIM program in May 2016. It has been a wonderful experience. As a student here, I was given an expanded exposure and opportunities. In addition to graduate level math courses, there is a wide selection of courses from different majors as well. We also did industrial projects for two semesters. These valuable experiences and skills help me facilitate my career path a lot. I am now working as a risk analyst in an insurance company. My duties include developing statistical assumptions for financial models from large databases. Thanks to MSIM program, I established best practices in data science and mathematical modeling. To me, MSIM program provides a great combination of academic knowledge and business acumen. The experience is a lifelong guide rather than a graduate degree.”

Mikhaylov

Dmitry Mikhaylov

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2014

"Obtaining PSM in Industrial Mathematics at Michigan State has been a very beneficial experience. First, the program offered a big variety of cognates. I took courses in statistics, marketing, and entrepreneurship. Other options included engineering, supply chain, and computer science. Second, one of the program's requirement was a participation in the research project for local industries. This appeared to be very beneficial as I was able to immediately apply my newly obtained knowledge and skills. Finally, the program paid a special attention to teamwork and professionalism, both of which are necessary in any business environment. I would definitely recommend applying to this program for those who look to deepen their academic background, but at the same time are focused on the careers in business.”

Ryan Mellott

Ryan Mellott

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2003

Vice President, Actuarial, Jackson National Life Insurance Company

“I applied to the Professional Science Master (PSM) program in Industrial Mathematics at Michigan State University during its first year in existence and was admitted to its 2nd graduating class. I had decided to attend graduate school and had a primary desire to study real-world applications and to gain industry experience. I wished to avoid a Doctoral program to focus on an earlier entry to industry.

In looking back at my experiences while at MSU, the rigor of weekly problem sets were substantially more demanding than my undergraduate workload which made me understand the work ethic that was required to pass my sequence of actuarial exams. The industrial project component of the program curriculum provided valuable insight into industry and served to add highlights to my resume. The demand to deliver the highest quality project reports (in content, clarity, design and formatting) directly carried over to my earliest days of career and set me apart as a highly effective communicator. My career path at Jackson has been successful and rewarding.

I continued to live in East Lansing area after graduating from MSU. This has allowed me to easily keep in touch with MSIM program where I participate in the Industry Advisor Contact Day (IACD). I have also attended social functions within the program and provided career advice to students to provide insights into how they can jump start a successful industrial career by leveraging their talents and the skills developed through the MSIM program.”

Kaylee Linthicum

Kaylee Linthicum

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2011

Applied Mathematician, Supplier Management Finance, The Boeing Company

“I joined the Michigan State University PSM program in Industrial Mathematics after earning a Bachelor’s in Computational Mathematics. In addition to coursework that strengthened my core knowledge of applied mathematics, statistics, programming, and data mining, the program offered experiences with local companies which allowed me to practice these skills on real world problems. There was also a focus on clear communication which has benefitted me greatly in my career, especially when explaining technical data to non-technical colleagues. After graduating, I joined Boeing as a finance analyst in the Supplier Management Finance organization and have recently transitioned into a role as an applied mathematician working on cost models for the same organization. Throughout my time here, the skills that I developed in the PSM in Industrial Mathematics program have been recognized and allowed me opportunities to contribute to the success of my organization. As a part of the program, I participated in a Business and Communication Certificate program which exposed me to topics related to business which I have been able to build on as I spend more time in the business environment.”

Matt Kowske

Matt Kowske

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2008

Senior Consultant, Operations Excellence – West Monroe Partners

Senior Solution Consultant, Manufacturing – Kronos Inc.

LEAN 6-Sigma Facility Manager, 3PL – Caterpillar Logistics

Distribution Supervisor, 3PL – Caterpillar Logistics

“I graduated from the Industrial Mathematics PSM program from MSU the summer of 2008 and was recruited to a management rotational program with Caterpillar Logistics. Being a world leader in manufacturing as well as logistics, Caterpillar always searches for well-rounded and analytical talent. The PSMIM program at MSU was pivotal in providing this diverse background to take my career to the next level. The program allowed me to better understand business specific analysis; how to tailor deliverables to a specific audience; and how to communicate in a succinct way. These were critical in the next steps of my career working in a consulting capacity; firstly by designing time and labor tracking solutions for manufacturing customers across the world, and most currently by providing management consulting with a focus on customers’ operational excellence.”

James F. Kelly

James F. Kelly

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2005

Sr. Software Engineer – Simulation Group, Exa Corporation

“I graduated from MSU's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in August 2005 and stayed at MSU to complete a Ph.D. In Electrical and Computer Engineering in December 2008; nevertheless, I consider myself at Applied Mathematician at heart and have continued to learn and publish Applied Mathematics since leaving MSU. Mathematics and Physical Science is a journey I began in high school, a journey I continued as an undergraduate at Penn State and as a graduate student at MSU and later as postdoc at the Naval Postgraduate School (Monterey, CA) and now at my current position in industry at Exa Corp. (Burlington, MA), where we develop computational fluid dynamics (CFD) software for the automotive, oil and gas, and aerospace industries. The courses, projects, and conversations I had during the Industrial Math program provided the foundation for this journey. There were some sharp people at MSU; not only sharp, but sharing, and compassionate, and human. I've stayed in contact with several of my classmates, and seen them take different paths through life.

I learned something about teamwork in the PSM program. We all have different strengths, different limitations. The problems we face are difficult, but they are surmountable. We have to work together, to respect each other, to contribute in our way. We have to listen, and work together with a community of like-minded people. It's been almost twelve years since I stepped off the Amtrak in East Lansing on August 15, 2003, but this is what I learned, and am continuing to learn.”

Yueqi Jia

Yueqi Jia

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2017

Data Analyst, MSX Americas, Inc.

“My two years in the PSM program in Industrial Mathematics gave me an unforgettable and valuable experience. In the energetic and hard-working environment in this program, I developed solid quantitative skills, communication skills and problem-solving skills, from which I have benefited a lot in industry. The real-world industrial projects with different companies deepened my understanding of business, helped me to build professional connections and broadened my view of my career development. At the same time, the teamwork experience improved my communication efficiency, strengthened my collaboration skills and also gave me chances to become good friends with my peers. The industrial mathematics program prepared me to step into industry and it encourages me to always go further and keep improving my career.”

Tarah Jensen

Tarah Jensen

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

“After completing my bachelor’s degree in Mathematics from Grand Valley State University, I was looking to further my education in mathematics. I desired a program that would challenge me, allow me to take a diverse group of classes, and give me resources to apply my data analysis skills in real situations. I found this program at Michigan State. As a student in the Industrial Mathematics program, I could incorporate courses in other departments, such as business and marketing, with my math courses. Seeing issues from different perspectives pushed me to be better at finding solutions to problems. In my first year, I was involved in a challenging research project with Ford Motor Credit Company. Through this project, I further developed skills that I even use to this day. As an analyst for a charter school organization, I am constantly analyzing data in new ways to provide stakeholders with important information. I know my time in the Industrial Mathematics program at Michigan State has helped me to be successful in the work I do.”

Josiah Hounyo

Josiah Hounyo

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2017

Data Scientist, Caterpillar Inc.

“After completion of my bachelor degree in theoretical mathematics, I wanted to join a graduate program that upholds mathematical rigor while providing professional and business training. The PSM Industrial Mathematics program provided exactly that and more. The program allowed me to take data science specific courses and develop my Business Acumen. The MSIM curriculum is very diverse and makes it easy to pursue one’s own interests. Throughout the program, I had many chances to practice my presentation and communication skills. I was able to work on projects with real companies and in the process learned a lot about how to approach business problems. Armed with all this knowledge and training I was able to join Caterpillar, Inc. as a data scientist. I am constantly making use of my MSIM training on a daily basis and I can only be grateful for my two years in the program.”

Hongli Gao

Hongli Gao

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2015

Model Development Officer, AVP – Enterprise Risk Department, Comerica Bank

“I graduated from the Professional Science Master’s program in Industrial Mathematics at Michigan State University and joined Comerica as a Model Development Officer in 2015. As a PhD student, I know little about industry before joining MSIM program and my experience in job market was unpleasant. My final decision to join MSIM program has thoroughly changed my life for the better.

As a MSIMer, I had great opportunities to learn various subjects from Mathematics, Statistics, Data Mining, and etc. The MSIM program has also equipped me with a package of practical skills for my career in industry: communication skills, technical writing, presentation skills, teamwork, and etc. In addition, we also had incredible experiences to work on real industrial projects as teams. All of these experiences had prepared me to work in industry immediately after graduation. As a model development officer at Comerica Bank, I need to develop math/statistics/economics models for risk measurement, communicate with other team players and my manager, and prepare all documentation. All of these exactly require the same skill set I have learned from MSIM. Thanks to the MSIM program and Dr. Wu, I am more confident in my future career in industry.”

Yang Gao

Yang Gao

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2015

Portfolio Analyst, Loan Science

“PSM program is professional training forces on applying mathematics methods with statistical programming skills to provide strategy for business. It was a challenging experience that discovered my potentials, prepared me for the career right after graduation, from developing technical skillsets to communication, writing and presentation skills. Dr. Wu is an inspiring advisor who truly cares about our improvement and success. I got an interview opportunity from Industrial Advisor Contact Day, one of the most important events of the program, and joined Loan Science in 2015 as a portfolio analyst in Portfolio Analytics and Management team. I was well prepared by various and intense training from PSM before my career in business analytics, project management and teamwork.

Two years in PSM program will be precious for everyone, it’s filled with opportunities, seize as many as you can possibly can.”

Zhongping Gao

Zhongping Gao

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2011

Manager – Model Risk, Santander Bank Holding Company

“After joining the industrial mathematics program in 2009, I had invaluable experience to learn using statistics, finance, and mathematics to solve real industrial problems. Thanks to the great connection with industrial companies, I worked and learnt closely with industrial professionals on multiple projects. My career directly benefits from the mathematical skills acquired from this program. As a model risk manager at Santander bank, I am leading a team to review all model risk related projects for capital planning process, and to response regulator’s examination, which require exactly the strong mathematical and analytic skills leant from PSM. I believe that what this program offered is great combined knowledge between theory and application.”

Peter Draznik

Peter Draznik

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2016

Data Scientist, Dealer Inspire

“I was attracted to the MSIM program as it was not only a natural match for my the critical thinking and problem solving background developed through my Bachelor’s in Mathematics and Physics but was also an ideal environment to refine my leadership and business skills.

Soon after graduating from the MSIM program in 2016 I began working at Dealer Inspire as a Feature Developer, developing website plugins, APIs as well as internal tools to standardize and increase efficiencies in the website development and maintenance process. After familiarizing myself with the company I noticed numerous opportunities to apply many of the mathematical and statistical methods I had learnt while in the MSIM program. I presented my findings at one of our company summits, which prompted the foundation of our Data Science department. I have since worked as a Data Scientist on projects ranging from topic and sentiment analysis of conversations from in our chatbots to anomaly detection engines in our Google ad buying system while managing a growing team.

The PSM program at MSU leaves a student prepared to succeed in any business. The courses of the MSIM has provided a solid foundation to solve or begin to researching all problems I’ve encountered in the industry. Paired with the disciple instilled during my time in the program and I am certain the PSM program has and will continue to play a crucial role in my career.”

Cody Dean

Cody Dean

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2010

Sr. Business Intelligence Analyst, Amway Corporation

“I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in May 2010 and joined Amway in July 2010. The group that I came into at Amway had physicists, electrical and computer engineers, and bio-chemists, to name a few, and needless to say the group was extremely diverse. By allowing me to take graduate level classes in so many different disciplines, the Industrial Mathematics program made me a very well-rounded employee capable of collaborating with these individuals right out of the gate. I was able to effectively communicate with each discipline and the learning curve to get caught up to speed was quite low. Now that I have been with the company for 5 years, the mathematical and statistical background that I developed at MSU has put me in a role where people routinely seek me out for my expertise. I think one of the most beneficial pieces of the program was the business training that we received. I can effectively communicate my ideas to others in different areas of the company and I am constantly praised for my communication and presentation abilities. My experience in the Industrial Mathematics program at MSU helped me land a career that I absolutely love.”

Elizabeth Carter

Elizabeth Carter

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2013

Senior Staff Game Designer, WMS Gaming

“I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in May 2013 and started at WMS Gaming in October 2013. I joined the PSM program because it offers a unique blend of pure mathematics, applied mathematics, and project management, with a strong emphasis on communication and personal professional development. Throughout the program students learn useful skills via the courses but they also learn how to create a strong projection of themselves, which is often something both young and experienced professionals are lacking. Much of my job entails communicating with foreign studios, so being able to concisely summarize all of the relevant information into a single email helps cut down on time lost due to the time difference and language barrier. The program also helps students develop confidence in their public speaking and presenting skills, which is useful in almost any employment setting.”

Bradley W. Bykowicz

Bradley W. Bykowicz

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2009

Associate Actuary, Corporate Risk Department, Accident Fund

“I graduated in 2009 from Michigan State University with my Master's of Science in Industrial Mathematics. The MSIM program greatly prepared me for success in industry. Not only did I develop a strong quantitative and analytic background, but I also improved my communication skills and became a well-rounded problem solver. The practical, industry-emphasis of the educational experience provided by the MSIM program made my transition into the working world very easy, and made me a competitive candidate for a number of positions out of school. While I am an actuary by trade, the versatility provided to me by the MSIM experience has allowed me to pursue a number of interesting projects outside of my primary field.”

Conrad Blom

Conrad Blom

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2016

Software Developer, Auto-Owners Insurance Company

“I graduated from the PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in spring of 2016. Upon graduating I joined the Life Systems team at the Life Company for Auto-Owners Insurance as a COBOL software developer. It is a fantastic company, and they hire many math students for their software developer positions; it was a great opportunity for me to utilize my analytical thinking and problem solving skills developed in this master’s degree program at Michigan State. In a large company like Auto-Owners, every day there are new functionalities to be implemented, changes in processes, and maintenance to be performed which requires sharp and creative thinking skills. For projects I work on, communication is very important, and the skills I developed in this area at school have been helpful when communicating with business analysts and quality analysts to see a project through to completion. The exposure I received to different areas in the PSM program such as data mining, statistics, and project management, have broadened the scope of my skills beyond just math and is serving me well in my job now and into the future.”

Ryan Bettinger

Ryan Bettinger

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2011

Earned Value/Cost Analyst, Tecolote Research, Inc.

“I graduated from the Michigan State University PSM program in Industrial Mathematics in May 2011 and joined Tecolote Research, Inc. in October 2011. The program provided the correct balance of technical prowess and business acumen allowing me to transition quickly to the field of cost analysis. The ability to translate engineering projects and designs to understandable concepts and ideas for business decision makers is fundamental to the success of any program.

The MSU PSM program demands that its graduates are accomplished technical, programmatic and effective assets to their chosen fields. The flexibility of the program permits these goals to be met while allowing all candidates to mold their studies to future desired career paths without unnecessarily pigeonholing graduates to a specific job or vocation. My successes have been greatly amplified by the training provided through the MSU PSM program. There is no comparison for the combination of technical aptitude and common business sense that is provided and learned through the course of study.”

Cameron Berry

Cameron Berry

PSM in Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2017

Data Analyst, Expeditors

“I graduated from the PSM program in Industrial Mathematics at MSU in 2017. My experience in this program set me up for a position as a data analyst at Expeditors, where I use my knowledge of business processes to develop tools and reports both internally and for a multitude of clients. This unique path helped infuse my passion for mathematics with invaluable statistics, computer science and business related skills to become a well-rounded problem solver in a wide host of domains. The PSM program fostered my ability to look at a problem in generality and combine communication and business intelligence with technical skills to produce novel solutions. This educational endeavor helped spark a lifetime of learning and challenged me to be better as a leader, teammate, and thinker. I have not only made important network connections, but also great, lifelong friends that I’ve stayed in touch with. I would highly recommend the PSM program to individuals looking to enhance their career opportunities and put their mathematical skills in a highly practical framework where they can explore a diverse array of industrial problems.”

Curt Baragar

Curt Baragar

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2006

Mathematics Instructor, GRCC

“After graduating from MSU’s Industrial Mathematics program I was working as a consulting engineer at a telecommunications firm. Later I accepted an offer for a teaching position at a local community college. The wide variety of applied mathematics from various fields that I was exposed to in the PSM program gave me a great appreciation for the seemingly endless types of problems that are being solved using mathematics. This, along with the real-world experience gained from our projects class, makes it very easy for me to answer the inevitable student question, ‘When are we ever going to use this?’ ”

Megan Baker

Megan Baker

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2013

Actuarial Analyst, Accident Fund

“I graduated from Michigan State University’s PSM in Industrial Mathematics in May 2013. This program allowed me to strengthen my communication and writing skills. I was also able to experience mathematics in more real world scenarios, including experience with local companies in projects outside of the classroom. I believe the knowledge and experience I gained from this program have allowed me to be even more successful in my career.”

Camille Archer

Camille Archer

PSM Industrial Mathematics, Michigan State University, 2012

Director of Training, Institute for Cyber-Enabled Research (iCER), Michigan State University (MSU)

“I entered the PSM program in Industrial Mathematics after working for three years as a high school mathematics/science teacher – two of which were spent working part-time as an Assessment Manager. In May 2012, I graduated from Michigan State University's PSM program in Industrial Mathematics and joined the team at L& S Associates Inc. as an Information Manager. I later returned to my alma mater in 2014 to coordinate the high performance computing education and training efforts at MSU’s iCER. Many of the communication and collaboration skills I use today I learned through my exposure as a graduate student to collaborative class and industry projects as well as the certificate program in Project Management. The latter being a co-requisite for graduation from the PSMIM program.

In addition to a solid mathematics component, the flexibility of the program allowed me to pursue my interests in statistics and data mining, which were very useful in my role as an Information Manager. I can truly say that the academic and professional education I received through the PSM program in Industrial Mathematics at MSU broadened my career prospects.”

  Links

Contact

Department of Mathematics
Michigan State University
619 Red Cedar Road
C212 Wells Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824

Phone: (517) 353-0844
Fax: (517) 432-1562

College of Natural Science